Game Career Guide Forums

Game Career Guide Forums (http://www.gamecareerguide.com/forums/index.php)
-   Art (http://www.gamecareerguide.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Need some crit/advice for portfolio please (http://www.gamecareerguide.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5755)

3dcaspar 02-17-2012 12:43 AM

Need some crit/advice for portfolio please

Hi everybody,

I'm new to this forum, so first of all my name is Caspar and i live in Munich. I just finished the University (SAE-Institute, BA of Interactive Animation) and i'm still waiting for the last grades.

My goal is to work as an Environment artist in the games industry.
So i set up a portfolio and now i really need critique! ;)
Due to the fact that i have no real experience in the professional games industry i could really need some advice in order to improve my art in the portfolio...
(only experience is: two student projects / one indie game project (www.stillalive-studios.com) as lead artist)

so what do you think of my portfolio?

http://shownd.com/3dcaspar

Thanks a lot in advance!

nightblue 02-19-2012 07:35 PM

Re: Need some crit/advice for portfolio please

Hi there,

Thanks for sharing your work! I've been an environment artist for 2+ years and here are my honest 2-cents.

My first feedback is your portfolio pieces are of a wide range of qualities. This is common among students and new professionals because they are going through a "growth spurt" skill-wise, but it's not the best way to sell your portfolio. Most people agree that you should only put in your strong pieces and leave out the ones that are "meh". It is far better for art directors to contact you and ask if you have any more work to show than for them to turn away upon seeing your worst piece.