Originally Posted by Gshonk
I used SVN for a two month 4 man project and it worked fine. But everyone has to know what they are doing with it or else you can erase someone else's code.
I just re-read this. You can't erase someone else's code. You can replace it but there is always a revision history that you can revert to or see the differences from. That is the beauty of source control, you can't actually lose any work that you submit without actually nuking the depot.
If worse comes to worse, then we can use exclusive file checkouts (or file locks) which means no two people can be working on the same file at the same time. A lot more hassle but it immediately solves the problem you highlighted.