Old 09-24-2011, 09:41 PM   #1
Rybo5000

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss46
Default Advancing in C++

Hey everyone,

I have a good basic knowledge of C and C++ (classes, structures, arrays ect ect) all the basic beginner stuff (I've read/have a total of 5 different books in last year on them).

I'm ready to move on and start making simple games, stuff like Pong and that, nothing fancy obviously because I'm still a beginner really.

What would everyone recommend I learn? I've heard of SDL, OpenGL but it's hard to know which will be more useful in the future.
Old 09-25-2011, 11:10 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2272

SDL is pretty straightforward. Google for lazyfoo tutorials.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Rybo5000

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss46

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaustar View Post
SDL is pretty straightforward. Google for lazyfoo tutorials.
These look pretty promising, thanks a lot.
Old 10-12-2011, 03:34 PM   #4
Serapth

Activity Longevity
0/20 9/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss9
Default Re: Advancing in C++

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rybo5000 View Post
Hey everyone,

I have a good basic knowledge of C and C++ (classes, structures, arrays ect ect) all the basic beginner stuff (I've read/have a total of 5 different books in last year on them).

I'm ready to move on and start making simple games, stuff like Pong and that, nothing fancy obviously because I'm still a beginner really.

What would everyone recommend I learn? I've heard of SDL, OpenGL but it's hard to know which will be more useful in the future.