Get the latest Education e-news
 

Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > More Careers
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2009, 01:19 AM   #1
winnie
Junior Member

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4
Default No Localization Testing in Australia?

Hello Gamecareer-Team,

I was recently looking for localization / localization testing jobs in australia but was not able to find any. Is it possible that they don't localize and test their games in australia but have it outsourced to europe or elsewhere? I was wondering because there are lots of great developers in down under but i was not able to find a single job offering for q&a or localization.

Does anyone know how it is handled in australia?

best regards

winnie
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 03:04 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator
 
yaustar's Avatar

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2256
Location: UK
Default

Depends on the company but since it is QA, it generally does get outsourced.

I did found a role but it was for QA Lead in Australia: http://www.gamesindustry.biz/jobs/se...35&location=45
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 05:14 AM   #3
winnie
Junior Member

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaustar View Post
Depends on the company but since it is QA, it generally does get outsourced.

I did found a role but it was for QA Lead in Australia: http://www.gamesindustry.biz/jobs/se...35&location=45
I was not aware of the fact that QA is normally outsourced. I know that studios like Rockstar do have their own QA facilites and I thought it was the normal way this was handled.
I am actually most interested in localization and localization testing which I thought was done by the developer... am I wrong?

Regards winnie
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 05:33 AM   #4
yaustar
Administrator
 
yaustar's Avatar

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2256
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
I was not aware of the fact that QA is normally outsourced. I know that studios like Rockstar do have their own QA facilites and I thought it was the normal way this was handled.
It really does vary from company to company. Some will have a large QA team, some have a small internal QA team and outsource the rest, others will outsource it completely.

Localisation is along the same vain. I have seen both ends of the spectrum where localisation is done by 3rd party and others that do it in house.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:42 AM   #5
winnie
Junior Member

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaustar View Post
It really does vary from company to company. Some will have a large QA team, some have a small internal QA team and outsource the rest, others will outsource it completely.

Localisation is along the same vain. I have seen both ends of the spectrum where localisation is done by 3rd party and others that do it in house.
Okay thanks for your response. So I think the easiest way is to just ask the developers and hope for an answer!
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:49 PM   #6
yaustar
Administrator
 
yaustar's Avatar

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2256
Location: UK
Default

Pretty much. Unless you know people in the industry, you can't do much better.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:01 AM   #7
winnie
Junior Member

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaustar View Post
Pretty much. Unless you know people in the industry, you can't do much better.
I will give it a try, maybe it works for me... thanks!
winnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 06:03 PM   #8
KSADL
Junior Member

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2
Default

I've actually been looking around seek.com.au for any entry-level testing or QA jobs in Australia (Melbourne in particular) since the start of the year... I even set up a job mail service so that it emails me every time a testing job is posted, and so far every job listed is either for a Testing Lead or an experienced tester with at least 2-3 years experience. At the moment I am at a loss on how to get into this field.
KSADL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:32 PM.






UBM Tech