Old 01-30-2008, 01:28 PM   #1
astonjay32

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss1
Default Portfolio advice needed: 3D Engines

My question for developers currently in the industry:
If you're an employer looking to hire someone for an entry level job in the game development industry, would you be more impressed with a 3D demo featuring a completed, polished, great-looking game that used an existing 3D engine such as Torque OR a demo that lacks the "wow" factor, but features a 3D engine built entirely from scratch?

I'm a CS grad looking to break into the industry as a programmer. I know that I need a killer portfolio that will show a potential employer that I have adequate skills in C++, 3D math, physics, etc. I'd love to have many games in the portfolio (and there probably will be), but I've read in many places that a portfolio needs at least one really good demo. Something that will knock their socks off and separate me from the rest.

Now, it's worth mentioning that my goal isn't to just be a game developer. I want to be a great game developer. This will take many years and much hard work, however if I've learned anything in life, it's that your skills at any given thing will never reach that next, outstanding level unless you have a solid foundation to build on.

In a perfect world, I could create an engine from scratch and also build a more optimized and better featured game using an existing engine, but I'm not sure how much time I'll have to devote to this each week while at my current job and I'd like to be in the industry within the next year.

I understand that in the practical video game sense, building an engine from scratch is a silly waste of time, but for someone looking to break in, wouldn't this be invaluable education and proof to an employer that I truly know what I'm doing? Or would I be better off using an existing engine and focus on making the game as impressive as possible?

Thanks!