Old 04-13-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
AskWhy2008

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss7
Default Localization Affair

Howdy,

The name is Chris and I am currently 18 years old. The plan for life originated as a cartoon animator, but after the realization of not being able to draw, I turned to my other passion in life, video games (hence, why we are all here). I will be entering into college next year for Computer Science with a Minor in Japanese. The plan is to localize titles for Nintendo, a dream I have always had. Currently, I am a News Editor for a Nintendo news website, Zentendo.com. We reach about a quarter of a million hits a month, which in the scheme of things isn't as much as it sounds. I am primarily using Zentendo to build up a portfolio of writing samples as well as get my foot in the door, we hope to be able to head to E3 if not this year, next.

Of course, the problem I have is the whole learning the foreign language part. Japanese is a passion, don't get me wrong, but I have difficult learning a completely new language. It is an especially slow process for myself. I have been in Japanese classes the last year and a half, and my freshman year in high school. I have done decently well, but a recurring theme has been that I cannot learn Japanese permanently until I use it 24 hours a day. As such, as it stands, after my sophomore year in college I hope to sign up for the foreign exchange program. Currently, I am using MIT's free online lectures, which can be found here, to relearn and keep my basic Japanese skills sharp while I continue to reside in good English/Spanish country.