Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Programming
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 05-06-2008, 10:45 PM   #1
bitman

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3
Default Suggestions for striving programmer?

Okay, so I'm in college and really looking into and investigating my options for after school is done. That said, my degree is going to be an associates in software engineering. I think that I would like to get into game programming however I've yet to see any job postings that don't:

a)Require a full four year degree in computer science.

or

b)two or more years of experience in the field

Any suggestions on what I can do to get my foot in the door and boost my job eligibility come 2009 without taking an extra two years of college? Or honestly, any other sector of business? My school sings a tune of 60k a year after school is out for this degree....but I'm skeptical.
bitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 08:53 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
1/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2244

Possible routes I can think of:
1) Do education and time needed for the degree and apply for a job.
2) Attempt to apply anyway regardless of the requirements and hope you can get to an interview either through luck and/or based off your portfolio.
3) If you have any contacts in the industry, use them to help get your application in.
4) Apply for a related job outside the industry and if you get it, get a couple of years experience and try breaking into the industry again.
5) Start low (QA/Level scripter) and hope you get a chance to be promoted to a programmer position soon.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 10:48 AM   #3
bitman

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3