Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 06-04-2008, 06:33 AM   #1
Boxface

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss5
Default Self-taught... Career Suicide?

Hey everybody, I am a complete newbie at programming, but I'm interested in entering the games industry and it may very well be one of the only options for me.

I'd like to start my saying a few words about myself, whether you should choose to read them or not is fine, but perhaps will give you a better picture of my dilemma. I am 17 years old and currently within the last few days of high school. At the beginning of my final year, I had originally decided to pursue a career in cooking, but midway through the year I did some self-discovering and am now a vegetarian. Due to the fact that it'd be hard to land a vegetarian cooking position, I decided to pursue another career. At this point, I had already begun to let my grades slip, because I am one who finds conventional schooling very tedious, so when I had thought I'd be a chef I figured I'd only need to get out of high school and be done with it.

Anyway, so here I am ... a few days before graduating, with poor marks and no real idea of what to pursue. Games have always been a hobby of mine, so I was thinking that it'd be a good start. I had toyed with the thought of making games like any teenager, but now I think I'm finally getting serious with it. However, I am not a very artistic person and although I like to believe I am very creative in some senses, I don't know how that would transition to the games industry. Therefore I feel as if I'm left with programming, which is not a bad thing. I have a fascination with computers, as I love to put them together, and learning how to make programs would only be more fun for me.