Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 06-23-2008, 02:46 AM   #1
Squeaky

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss5
Default Question from an absolute beginner

Just wanted to start by saying that this site is great! I wish I had found it a long time ago. The forums have been very informative and educating.

I have an idea for a game that I want to make a reality. I do all my work in photoshop which makes me SOL when it comes to game-making. I picked up a copy of 3d Studio Max but am unable to get any traction. What programs do I use for coding, etc... These questions go unanswered.

I looked into some videogame schools, but they all want around 70 grand and I'm not looking to break into the videogame industry, I just want to make one computer game. That's it.

I was wondering if anyone knew of a crash game programming course/workshop that was available for someone like me. Someone who just wants to make one game, not break into the industry.

Thank you so much in advance,

Squeaky
Squeaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 05:20 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
1/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2270

Quote:
Someone who just wants to make one game, not break into the industry.
Use GameMaker for 2D games (3D support isn't great) or 3D Game Studio for 3D games.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 10:15 AM   #3
GCGuser

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4

I'd stick to some simple Flash/Sprite games, or perhaps XNA stuff (http://creators.xna.com/), etc.

It's not easy to make a game, even a small one.
GCGuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 12:45 AM   #4
zenobuk

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss18

You could also check out DarkBASIC if you want a not-too-heavy way to do some game programming...