Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 07-16-2008, 01:20 PM   #1
Zooch

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss186
Default Maya or Max?

I'm sure this question could be introduced into the hall of fame under the 'most frequently asked' category, but I want to bring it to the front again.

I'm looking at different methods of learning Maya and Max, and noticing that a single class costs upwards of 500-1000 USD. I'm WAY too poor for that. So I divert my search to do-it-yourself DVDs, which are 50-200 USD. I'm barely able to afford that.

From what I've seen recently, game companies often trend to using 3DS Max. I have a copy of Maya, and 3DS Max would cost me more than I can shell out right now. I also have poked around in Maya a bit and know a tiny bit more than nothing.

I'm a level designer who's had success on a few different mod teams, but it seems that if you want to break into the industry as a level designer you need some experience in modeling (and texturing, but that's a totally different question).

Is it okay for me to use Maya without restricting my job opportunities? Is Max the better choice? Do serious game companies tend to have converter programs for both Max and Maya? Should I man up and learn them both?

Thanks for your time!
Zooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 02:56 PM   #2
Adrir
Administrator

Activity Longevity
1/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1467

Apologies if this isn't relevent, however I remember reading a short article about this in the feature Artistic Enterprise: Advice on Portfolios, Software & Schools.
Old 07-16-2008, 04:23 PM   #3
Zooch

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss186

That's a good read, especially because it says what I want it to!