Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Design
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 08-05-2008, 12:52 PM   #1
Roxanne BP

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss50
Default Game design career tips (Yes! Another life story...)

Hi there!

It’s my first post here. My name is Roxanne, I’m 21 years old, and I am studying in science of communication at University of Montreal, Canada. To be more accurate, I got a minor certificate (one year) in anthropology and I will obtain my major certificate (2 years) in communication in less than a year. It is the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree. I did my college degree (‘cause in the province of Quebec, Canada, we have a weird education system in which we have only 5 years of high school and in which we have to attend to a sort of pre-university college called CEGEP for two years) in Humanities.

Now, while I’m a girl (and I have truly odd interests for a girl), I played Video Games since childhood. I played before I can recall to Atari and NES, and SNES, and Gameboy. I played Doom on the knees of my Mom… classical background, but that’s kind of special while girls of my age were playing back then with dolls and toy kitchens. Anyways, I’m used to be considered as a freak and most of my friends are of the opposite gender.

Now, after this boring but necessary briefing of my life, I can get to the point. One year ago, I decided, as many of you at some point of your life, to put together my interests and my career aspirations. I want to be Game Designer. It was like a revelation to me. I’m a really passionate person, and what I did just for fun (playing video games, collectible card games, role-playing games – both table-top and live) and the things I studied so far (History, languages, cultures, philosophy) was finally making some sense. I thought: “Wow! That’s a job for me!”