Old 09-21-2008, 02:12 PM   #1
SoApBoX

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss10
Default The basic fundamentals of a game

Hey,

I've been curious about something for a very long time and I needed it answered. What, exactly, makes up a game? What are the elements of a game? I remember reading an article awhile back showing a really in-depth look at how to analyze and create the basis for level designs, but I don't remember where it is. I've made it both a personal and external goal to figure this out because I plan to go into the industry when I'm older(I'm 16 right now).

I'm a level designer working on a 3D Sonic game called Sonic Revolution, which is gaining some popularity but is still in early development. I need to make a first level by October the 1st and I've had awhile to do it, but never could really nail it. I've also tried to figure out some techniques in my head, but they weren't really as effective as I hoped they would be.

Can someone help me out, please? Thank you.
SoApBoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 06:30 PM   #2
SoApBoX

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss10

Wow, 40 views and no replies >_>
Old 09-22-2008, 07:12 PM   #3
ronnoc10

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss350

Well, to put it simply, that is because I have a hard time understanding what you are saying.
ronnoc10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 11:23 PM   #4
Adrir
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1464

I'm not sure if you're asking about level design in particular, or if you're trying to determine the elements of game design in general, or the elements of game development in general. Each topic has a very wide scope.
Old 10-22-2008, 08:00 PM   #5
SoApBoX

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss10