Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Programming
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-12-2008, 10:11 PM   #1
nef

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss58
Default What's your favorite language, and why?

I've been working w/ C++ for many years and a couple years profesionally now, but i've recently started to learn java.

I like java for a couple reasons, so far, primarily.

1.) It's very similar to C/C++ syntex (which makes it easier for me to pickup)
2.) It feels like it fixes/forces a lot of OO design problems in C++

I've been considering learning another language (or scripting language) and i wanted to get a feel for what people thought about their most proficient languages. What do you like and dislike most about them?

Languages I'm most interested in learning about include but aren't limited to:

Python
C#
Pearl
Haskell (Gata learn at least one functional programming language right)

I'd just like to see the opinions of everyone else here
nef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:13 AM   #2
Protector one

Activity Longevity
2/20 17/20
Today Posts
1/11 ssssss695

Well I just love Python because it has such a simple syntax, yet allows for very expressive code. It feels like writing in a natural language at times.
Old 11-13-2008, 12:35 AM   #3
Claxon

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss345

My current favorite is C#. I'm a professional Java programmer, and C# / java are almost identical, so I really can't say what it is about C# that I prefer (possibly that I find it easier to just throw together GUI tools faster than I would in java).

I'm affraid I prefer it over c++ for a very trivial reason... I'm tired of header files! With the Java & C++ system of defineing a class all in one place, it feels so antiquatied to split the structure & code in C++. I also don't like using -> to access fields in a class object.
Claxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 06:12 AM   #4
yaustar