nef

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss58
Default And a passion for games...

Why is it so many companies list:

"A passion for games"

As a requirement for an engineering position in the game industry? I thought this made perfect sense, until I started working in the industry.

My opinion is, fuck your passion of games. I want to work w/ someone who has a passion for:

- Good design.
- Elegant code
- Efficient code
- "Best" coding techniques
- Learning/Self improvement (Most important)

I've see so much terrible code I wana slap people. IMO an engineer should be more concerned about how his system can handle the requirements of the design team and how flexible it is to change, than how X game mechanic works.

Maybe it's because I don't work on games I would personally ever pay a dollar to play, but I'm a coder because it's what i love to do. I love games, sure, but I don't do the best damn job i can and improve myself after every project because I love games. I do it because I care about my ability as a software engineer. Fuck "passionate for games". It's high time they removed that from the list of "requirements" for a games programmer!

Although, I'd let it slide in the "Pluses" section
nef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 05:08 AM   #2
Gshonk

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss831

Plus isn't it obvious that you are passionate about games, since you are applying to a game job.
Gshonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 05:45 AM   #3
Claxon

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss345

Very true, if you weren't passionate about them you'd settle for a better paid application engineering job with benefits and civil working hours.

The requirement I hate is "A flexible approach to working hours". Yes we all know that games usually require overtime, but including that in the job spec makes it sound like it's the rule, rather than an exceptional event.
Claxon is offline   Reply With Quote