Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Writing
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 01-06-2009, 07:55 AM   #1
schnoo

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2
Default leaving law school, going after the dream, cities?

Ok. I just completed my first semester of law school. This is NOT who I want to become. I studied abroad in Japan for a year as an undergraduate and loved it! I love so many facets of the gaming scene. I almost enjoy reading new developments more than I enjoy playing the games.

My writing experience varies. I have had one freelance piece published in my undergraduate paper, a myriad of high school pieces as editor-in-chief, and a short-lived internship/editor position on a indie gaming website.

I can move virtually anywhere and want to move to a city that has the most opportunities for me, even if it means starting by washing the windows of the main office or running errands. To that effect, what major cities have the largest concentration of game testing/game journalism offices? I know sites like IGN say they want "local" talent, so location seems to matter greatly.

This is a wonderful site; I hope to learn a lot before I make my big move towards my dream!!
I should say I would be happy as a reporter, travelling to game events or conducting interviews, or as an editor, loving grammar in an unhealthy way.

Last edited by schnoo : 01-06-2009 at 08:36 AM.
schnoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:19 AM   #2
jillduffy
Administrator

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss421

San Francisco and Los Angeles.
Old 01-21-2009, 06:21 AM   #3
VladTheImpaler

Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss1

seattle...
VladTheImpaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:05 AM   #4
ccontinisio

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss123

All I can say, never come to Italy!!
Old 01-25-2009, 11:17 PM   #5
HPPennypacker

Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts