Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Design
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 05-12-2009, 01:32 AM   #1
Chimpey

Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2
Default Art, Programmng or General Design?

Hi

I am currently studying a 2 year Games Development course at my college and have almost finished my first year. During the year I have found that Level Design/creation is my most desired role to work towards. And have already began using my free time to build levels, model etc

But, I need to start deciding on my University course to take and trying to decide which degree to follow is becoming problematic. The three options are mostly 3D art & animation, Programming or a general design course.

After spending a good deal of time with programming I have found its not really my thing and I can get rather tiresome of it. This leaves me with the other two courses. Which of these 2 do you guys think will be most beneficial for me to become a Level Designer?

Both seem very good and very appealing to me and I think I will enjoy both
Chimpey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 03:24 AM   #2
Adrir
Administrator

Activity Longevity
1/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1466

You don't need a games degree to get a job in the games industry. Just study something you are passionate about.
Old 05-12-2009, 05:35 AM   #3
PuppyBlade

Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss8

By general design do you mean things like page layout and composition? If so, I'd say go with the 3d Art and Animation, the tools would be similar to what you'd use designing levels for a 3d game.
PuppyBlade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:50 AM   #4
Zooch

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss186

I don't know exactly what the "general design course" means, but it sounds like 3D Art and Animation would be more valuable to you. I know the most sought after employees are the programmers, but I think animators come 2nd.