Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Design
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 05-27-2009, 09:35 PM   #1
Kaboom

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3
Default School Switcharoo: Is it worth it?

Hello,

I am currently a student of UOIT (University of Ontario Institute of Technology) fresh from first year Game Development and Entrepreneurship, and I am facing a bit of a dilemma and would like a little professional guidance.

Before heading off to University, I knew I wanted to be a game designer, but still lacked an understanding of what I was strong at and what I really wanted to do. After completing the first year, I found out some things about myself. 1) I severely lack math and programming skills 2) The only classes I thoroughly enjoyed was my Creative Writing, General Writing, and Psychology (the 2 latter being general electives) and 3) Having smelly roommates really sucks.

Being that the program is called Game Development and Entrepreneurship, it seems to be very math/business orientated. This, in a way, has made me feel that a lot of the courses are going to be very irrelevant to my final goal, being a game designer.

So, I have been contemplating changing my major to psychology, an area I have much more interest in (especially compared to C++) and would allow me to develop my writing skills. Also, I could use the knowledge from this major more directly towards my current designs.

So what I am asking is "Is it a good idea to switch now, from a game development program, to a standard psychology major, having the Game Designer title remaining as my goal?"

What would be the pros and cons of switching? This is something I have been dwelling over for the past few months, and it is starting to stress me out a bit. I understand that "irrelevant courses" are always going to pop up, but I find the over all direction of my current program to be "foggy", to say the least.

Thanks!
Michael Gooch