Old 09-05-2009, 09:25 AM   #1
bobkreut

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss7
Question Asst Producer

Hi,

I'm currently a surveyor looking to get back into the game industry. I've done a year of a game art and animation diploma program about 4 years ago, but tuition was too high to do the second year so I jumped into a QA job doing compliance testing on Xbox live for a year. I thought it'd be good to have a back up plan (you know *just in case* a crash happens in the entertainment sector) so I went back to school to pick up a trade. In this case, surveying. So I have a Diploma of Technology in Geomatics now and have been surveying for the last three years.

For work experience aside from QA, I have experience managing a pizza place doing scheduling\budgeting etc. for a year, I have a constant stream of freelance work offers to be an artist for Disney painting backgrounds for books, and I've been a surveyor in charge of an entire survey crew for an underground mine. This survey position involved meeting with clients, planning for the days,weeks, and months ahead, provided monthly cost reports and forecasts, and delegating work amongst crews. So even though from an outside view it may not seem like it, I've actually had a PM role for most of the work and schooling I've done.

I've never really left the thought of returning to the game industry and I've always kept up to date on the industry and read postmortems whenever they become available. I'm quite passionate about returning to the game industry and should be apparent by the fact that i'd be taking a 40-50% pay cut doing so. I've read (again) Tom's guide on Producing, Lesson 42, and I'm wondering if my experience would warrant an interview for an asst. producer or if I will be completely overlooked by the fact that my experience's title isn't Design or Business Management?
bobkreut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 10:08 AM   #2
tsloper
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
3/20 14/20