Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 09-19-2009, 07:44 AM   #1
Tenacious Stu

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss70
Default Negotiated Project In Visual Communication - Suggestions

I am just beginning my second year studying Computer Games Design at the University of Wolverhampton. One of our modules for this semester will be a Negotiated Project, which means we go to our lecturer with an idea for a project to do and if he gives it the 'okay' then you work on your idea for that module. My career goal is to become a Computer Games Designer, so I was wondering, what project should I suggest that I do? i want something that will really benefit me and by desired job role. One idea that I had was to create a Game Design Document (although, perhaps not a full one as I will only have 12 weeks), as this would allow me to show my skills as a designer as well as creating some artwork for it. I would include things like characters, levels, story, control schemes, game mechanics, etc. If anyone can suggest anything else that would be worth doing, please let me know. Thank you.
Tenacious Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 04:14 AM   #2
Adrir
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 20/20
Today Posts
2/11 sssss1460

Personally, I would be tempted to design a non-digital board game to put in my portfolio.
Old 09-20-2009, 02:24 PM   #3
Gshonk

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss831

I agree with Adrir a board game is a great idea, you can still make the GDD but actually play and refine your game this way.
Gshonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:56 PM   #4
Tenacious Stu

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss70

Quote:
Personally, I would be tempted to design a non-digital board game to put in my portfolio.
Quote:
I agree with Adrir a board game is a great idea, you can still make the GDD but actually play and refine your game this way.