Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Programming
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 10-03-2009, 08:17 AM   #1
Jakester8908

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss12
Location: I live in California, USA. I live in a city that's in between Sacramento & San Francisco (Vacaville)
Default Computer Science major question

First of all Im a community college student about to apply for transfer. Im planning on going for a Computer Science major (BS to be exact) so I can get in the video game industry. As I was looking into schools that have computer science degrees some schools require CS majors to go for a specific field like Software Engineering, Computer Engineering, etc while other schools allow students to go for Computer Science. Before I make a decision on what schools to apply for I have at least a couple of questions:
1) Am I better off just going for Computer Science or in more specific area of Computer Science?
2) If recommended for specific areas, what areas will be good for me to get into video gaming industry?

Anything will be appreciated. Thank you guys for your time to read this and answer this!
Jakester8908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:07 AM   #2
tsloper
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
3/20 14/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss1882

Didn't you already ask this question and get it answered? Or am I confusing you with someone else?
Just get the CS degree. If you want to specialize in a narrow part of CS, and/or have an unrelated or semi-related minor, just do it!
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson25.htm -- How to choose a college/university
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson34.htm -- How to choose a degree
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson44.htm -- Regular college vs. game school
http://www.igda.org/columns/gamesgam...game_Jun09.php -- More about regular college vs. game school
http://www.igda.org/columns/gamesgam...game_Jul09.php -- And still more about regular college vs. game school