Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 10-08-2009, 01:56 AM   #1
mapacible

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2
Default Pursuing my dream job.

Hi guys! You've probably heard this story or a variation of it. When I was a kid, I loved reading fantasy books and playing RPGs. I love experiencing stories from any type of media (books/games/movies) and I figured it would be swell if I become a writer or to make RPGs. I've never really pursued it since I didn't think it was a viable option for me.

Back when I was just right out of college, I discovered RPG Maker XP and for a few months, it was like my dreams have been answered. I realized I am a bit of a perfectionist in all aspects of the game: gameplay, sound, user interface, graphics. I was able to modify the default gameplay and user interface to my satisfaction by self-studying the software's own Japanese programming language (Ruby). The problem is that I am no artist and it frustrated me a lot that I cannot make the scenarios I have in mind come to life with the default sprites and graphics of the software. About a month after graduation, I got a job. I got busy with it and I was frustrated with my game's cinematography so my fledgling game was put on hold.

Now, I am a computer programmer (three years and counting). I'm currently 24 and I feel like I'm experiencing some sort of quarterlife crisis. My current job seems to be one of convenience since I find it easy to program/design for a consulting company but there is just zero passion in it for me! Just a week ago I rediscovered the game that I started three years ago and it reignited my passion for game making. After a lot of thinking, I have finally decided to pursue my original dream job to become a game designer. I've read a bit of the articles here on how to get started and I think I'm going with Sloper's "DIFTI" path.

I've thought of some rough plans on how I'd go about doing it. Here are my current plans: