Get the latest Education e-news

Old 10-14-2009, 08:12 AM   #1
nitramssirc

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss5
Post Portfolio feedback

I'm currently an unemployed web developer looking to get into the game industry. I've been working on and off on the side on game development projects over the years and have built up what I think is a respectable portfolio.

I've tried to apply to game studios in the past, but haven't had very much luck to date with getting any call backs. I attended the Game Career Seminar at GDC Austin last month and tried to mold my portfolio using their guidelines by making it more professional and easy to navigate.

I just wanted to see if I could get some feedback to see if the changes I've made make me a more competitive applicant. I'm also starting work on another game that I hope to add to the portfolio, but it's not ready for posting yet.

Here are links to my old portfolio and my redesigned, more professional portfolio:

Old: zombiebeerrun.com
New: crissmartin.com

Any comments would be appreciated. I want to be criticized.
nitramssirc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:57 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2270

In some ways, I quite like the old one better apart from the domain name, bright yellow and Times New Roman font.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 01:55 PM   #3
nitramssirc

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss5
Smile

I had a feeling the look and feel of the old one was pretty solid, but definitely needed a domain name change. I may put together a hybrid and see what it looks like. Are there any other areas that the new version improves on layout wise besides the domain name?

Thanks.
Old 10-14-2009, 03:19 PM   #4
nitramssirc

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss5