Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Programming
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 10-29-2009, 11:46 AM   #1
jmk09

Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss11
Default electrical and computer engineer confusion.

Ok so basically i'm an electrical and computer engineer student, junior year. and we do get some programming classes i've already taken c++ and now data structure and algorithm and i am really enjoying those.
But till now I am not sure if i want to become a game programmer or work in console design ( since i'm taking electronic courses too and i'm enjoying those too)....unfortunately there is nothing on the entire web that even states who are the people who work on engineering consoles such as xbox 360 and ps3 and how the work is like. I need to know what's that like to know which field i am interested in so i can at least concentrate on some courses more than others.
thanks.
P.S : I know this doesn't have anything to do with programming ( kind of) but even on gamecareerguide i can't find a thread about designing game platforms.
jmk09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 03:25 PM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2261

Definitely not my area but maybe something/somewhere like XGameStation may help.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 03:26 PM   #3
Gshonk

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss831

Welcome to the forums!!

I can honestly say I've never heard this question, interested to see if anyone knows anything about it. I've met a few developers who work on the initial SDK for machines but never the machines themselves.
Gshonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 06:34 PM   #4
tsloper
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
3/20 14/20
Today Posts
2/11 sssss1838

Hi Jmk,