Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-10-2009, 04:59 AM   #1
Miss Galvin

Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss6
Smile Hello, lovely newbie here! ;)

Oh my, where to start? Well, I'll start by saying hello to everyone!

I'm Miss Galvin (IRL my name is Carla), I'm 24 - 25 in twenty days - and I'm Portuguese.
My gaming background is, at least, strange. As a kid, I never got a console, and computers were expensive - so, the only contact I had was what I used to see on TV, and kids at school.
My very first contact was when I was 9 - my elder brother was graduating from college and got a computer for his projects. As a History student, he started to get interested on games with historical backgrounds, so my very first videogame was Civilization.

It had begun.

I got in a new school, Gameboys and Sega Game Gear started to do appearences in the hands of other kids. I was usually one of those who used to watch those lucky guys playing. Still, where was no way I could get one.

Then, during the year of 1998, my life changed: I got a computer as a birthday present. And things never been the same. I won't tell you the rest of the story because... well, it's huge.

Right now, I'm graduating on something somehow unrelated to videogames: foreigh languages, culture and literature. But during this last summer, I got into something that caught my interest a long time ago: programming. I did a short course on Algoritmics and Programming on C# and loved it. And I want to start a second career option.

I want to work in the gaming industry; I have experience as a journalist (but, as you can see, I lack fluency on English), I enjoy translation and I'm interested on localization, and I <3 programming.

But I got a few... issues, and I would appreciate your help:
1) I'm terrible at Math but I'm willing to give it another shot. At my country, Math teaching is awful. Does anyone know online courses or something?