Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2009, 06:20 PM   #1
boojum

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss18
Default Game Design Resume?

I was supposed to attend Vancouver Film School for their game design program but the money lenders new policy made me paying for the program infeasible so I had to back out.

Now I'm looking to go about it the hard way and had a few questions. I've already been looking at Tsloper's website and it's chalked full of so much knowledge, it's going to take me a couple sittings to get through and have it all really sink in.

I suppose I'll state a little bit about myself in hopes that it is helpful in someway:

I got my bachelors in Media/Communications and am about to finish up my masters in creative writing (scriptwriting) here at the end of January. I've been involved in theater, both directing and acting. I was even Big Bird at an amusement park (though I doubt this is helpful ). Also do some voice over work.

My question at this point I imagine is about resumes for a game designer. I've read several places that you should show you're a balanced person. what percentage should it be?

Tsloper talks about making your design work (as far as writing) available on a personal website. Would a blog be okay for this or is it too impersonal?

Not too gifted with making maps or levels (all I've tried is Steam's Hammer engine and I pray not all mapmakers are that confusing and frustrating). Not sure what else I can do to prove my chops than to overcome the toolset (though I don't think mapmaking is my gift) or to keep writing articles on games, design, etc.

I want to hit up a couple people that know people within the industry but I certainly don't want to contact those people if I can't prove my worth or merit.

Thanks for the help ahead of time.
boojum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:13 PM   #2
Retro

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss253

Quote: