Old 02-01-2010, 01:04 PM   #1
KoopahTroopah

Activity Longevity
0/20 13/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2
Question Finding a co-op

Hey guys,

I'm new here, one of the advisors at Drexel University recommended that I poke around gamasutra.com and this is where it lead me.

I'm a sophomore at Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA, and I'm about to go on my first co-op. I'm majoring in Computer Science, but I'm two terms behind because I changed majors from Computer Engineering. Here we have a system where the university has several jobs that you can request interviews for, however none of the jobs they have listed give any real programming/game development experience. I think this is mainly because Philly is a dry spot for the video game industry.

Are there any smaller companies that would actually teach game development/c+ programming on the job? I've only taken 3 programming courses so far so I'm not very experienced, but I have basic knowledge of c+.

--edit--

Hey I just checked gamedevmaps and yeah PA is pretty much a dry spot, there are a couple companies that are a little more wide known but it seems to me that EVERYONE and their brothers want 3+ years at game development experience with one successful launch title for senior game devs. I'm starting to think that I'm a little early to the game and I have to get more experience/finish my school before I can start looking at jobs that actually interest me.

Last edited by KoopahTroopah : 02-01-2010 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Looked at gamedevmaps or whatever that site is.
KoopahTroopah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:03 PM   #2
Gshonk

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss831

Hey there, welcome to the forum!