Old 02-26-2010, 01:26 PM   #1
norhild

Activity Longevity
0/20 15/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss5
Question Choice between two very different 3-month projects

Hi everyone!

I'm currently a Game Programming Master student at Gamagora (Lyon - FRANCE). On Monday, we're having a 3-month group project with the rest of our promotion, including Level/Game Designers and Graphic Artist, which I found really great.

So, the thing is there's two I'm interested in, and I'm certainly having troubles choosing between them. Both projects have been chosen by a jury of pro's, IMO both are really good.

On one hand, there's a action-puzzle game, very original and interesting, using UDK. Here I'd be developing mainly gameplay parts, I think.

Its pro's are obviously the choice of UDK, which I find it'll be interesting in my portfolio, and the project's originality. The main point against this project is basically that in three months there's a big chance that we could only finish a demo. There's also the thing we might have troubles using UnrealScript, since we're no experts at all.

On the other side there's a really nice platformer, which will be made using AIR/Flash. I'd be responsible mainly of the in-game level editor.

The pro's are that we'll have a neat game developed in 1'5-2 months and then have time to polish it and having a really great result. So a real indie game. Its con's, I'd say that Flash isn't as cool in a CV/portfolio as UDK.

So, I'd like to have your opinions. What would be the best for a game programmer, having a cool complete game in Flash or a "hi-tech" game demo made using UDK?
norhild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:43 PM   #2
tsloper
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
3/20 14/20
Today Posts
2/11 sssss1783

Quote:
Originally Posted by norhild View Post
1. there's two I'm interested in, and I'm certainly having troubles choosing between them.
2. both are really good.