Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 04-06-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
mc511

Activity Longevity
0/20 12/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss7
Default About to graduate with my BA but have a few questions

Hello everyone. I am new here and I am studying game design and development at a college and may be graduating this may if all goes well. Now that I am about to graduate I am wondering if I have a good qualifications to get a decent job. so let me tell you guys what i have studied and done since 2005.

I went to a community college that gives an AS in Game Design which really helped me learn alot about myself and the game development process in general. The first class I took was game 1 which i made a 10 page publisher proposal document and an 83 page game design document. The document was pretty much everything about a game that i would one day like to make. It included a bunch of screen shots and loads of detail about the controls to camera angles. It was difficult but the A was really worth it in the end.

In game 2 which was only one semester we had to make a game in 15 weeks. I was with 11 other students and we made a game titled Bloxter. I think we were the first class at the college to finish a game. We used Torque game builder which every class before us used and the engine was much easier to use by the time we were ready to make our game. We finished the game intime. My role was the lead designer. I was making game design decisions along with my buddy but the whole class was able to help make them along the way. My main job was worrying about the GDD and some marketing at the end.