Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 06-17-2010, 06:26 PM   #1
ryan.george

Activity Longevity
0/20 12/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss130
Default Tips for getting through to Studios

Hi all, first time poster, long time reader.

It has been roughly 3 weeks since I submitted my resume and CV to a local game design studio and even though I've been periodically calling about talking with someone in HR I still haven't heard back. I've even gone as far to show up at the studio (it's roughly 9 blocks from my apartment) in hopes of finding someone outside that can get me further inside information on how to pursue this position.

The position itself is that of an Administrative Assistant/Receptionist at the front desk. It's not a big position, that's for sure, but if hired I hope to build a relationship with the studio and attempt to climb the proverbial ladder through the ranks of QA up to an eventual position in Design.

I'm in my last year of college studying game development and feel like this would be an ideal start to my career while I finish my senior project and build a greater portfolio.

So, main question:
Anyone have any tips to seeking game employment that I may have overlooked?

Thanks in advance
---
ryan.george
ryan.george is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 02:34 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
1/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2270

Quote:
I've even gone as far to show up at the studio (it's roughly 9 blocks from my apartment) in hopes of finding someone outside that can get me further inside information on how to pursue this position.
If they have an application procedure on the website that doesn't involve turning up at the door, don't do that again. It is completely unprofessional and desperate.

Quote:
I've been periodically calling about talking with someone in HR I still haven't heard back.
Do you have the name of your initial contact? What did he/she say every time you called up.

Quote: