Get the latest Education e-news

Old 07-20-2010, 10:39 PM   #1
Gchavez

Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4
Default I need help

I'm looking into becoming a game programmer and want to go to school for it. I just don't know what school is best to do this and how exactly to get started. I don't really know anything about programming. I always wanted to make games and saw that prgramming fits me best. I have no experience so i need like a specific college that would help me and is the best. I live in California and am 19.
Gchavez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 12:04 AM   #2
Adrir
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 20/20
Today Posts
2/11 sssss1461

Simply get started and do some programming!

It would be best to try some coding before jumping into a Computer Science degree because if you don't enjoy it you will hate being enrolled on such a programme. I reccomend starting with a high-level object-orientated language such as Java, C# or Python.

Others may suggest jumping into the deep end - learn C++. You will need to learn this language eventually because it is the de facto standard within the games industry. In my experience, however, it can cause beginners to get lost and confused easily.

You can find game development libraries for all of these languages, including: LWJGL, XNA Framework and PyGame.
Old 07-21-2010, 07:22 AM   #3
tsloper
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
3/20 14/20
Today Posts
2/11 sssss1783

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gchavez View Post
i need like a specific college that would help me and is the best.
"Best" is subjective. Which one is "best" is something YOU have to decide for yourself.
Read:
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson44.htm
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson25.htm

PLEASE do not use this website's PM feature to contact me.
tsloper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 01:54 PM   #4
Gchavez

Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss4