Old 08-16-2010, 09:22 AM   #1
Flaxtick

Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3
Default Advice on getting started as an International Student

Hello people,
First up a small introduction to get things started. At 12, I was gaming on a cheap chinese knock-off of Nintendo gaming console. At 15, I just started playing games on a 64 bit console (still on some chinese knock-off!). At 19 I was pretty much playing multiplayer games over LAN and Internet (oh the glory days of Counter-Strike 1.6). Now at 24, am an Engineer currently working in a firm as a CAD designer. Somewhere between 19 and 24 I haven't been gaming as much as I would've liked to but that doesn't make me any less of a gamer as I continue to enjoy great single-player experiences on my gaming rig.

Right now that you know me (to an extent) let me get to the serious part. I've always found a great amount of joy in creating stuff like modding a game or figuring out ways to make the game better. When I started doing all this I began seeing games in a totally different way; as that of a creator/designer and less as a player. It's suffice to say that making a game could be as much fun as playing it (at times even more).

I've been following the gaming industry seriously for a while now and I would give my heart to be there. I am based in India and there isn't a great deal of studios working on console/pc/handheld games. So the choices are obviously limited. Having learnt that the North American gaming industry is the "best place to be" if you're in this field, I would like to ask some serious questions for which I request answers in the same sense.