Old 09-28-2007, 01:03 PM   #1
DanielBennifer

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3
Default Looking for some advice...

Hi,
I am looking for some advice, I have been working on random Game Development Projects and Modifications etc for a few years now. I have been using computers for many years, I have always loved games and enjoyed learning as much as i can.

I recently finished high-school, Im now 16 and looking on what to move on to next, The Game industry is the main thing i want to get in to.

There are not Colleges or such that do such courses around my area. I have looked in to a few Online-Courses (Game art Certificate Program) etc, Almost all of these online courses seem to require you to be over 18 years of age? Why is this? Are you supposed to stay out of learning etc for 2years?

Can anyone recommend what i should possibly look towards next? An online course or such i would be more than interested in...

I have experience in the following,
Web Development, PHP + HTML ,1+Years
Texturing Experience ,1+Years
Modeling Experience ,1Year
Animation Experience ,1Year
Programming Experience (Baisc C++ and C#) ,1+Years

I have used the following Programs and Software,
3ds Studio Max 7-9
Photoshop CS2-CS3
Macromedia Dreamweaver 8
Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
Microsoft XNA
Torque Game Engine
Torque Game Engine Advanced
+More...

Any Advice you guys can give me would be more than appreciated!
Thank you,
Daniel
DanielBennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 03:26 PM   #2
tleblanc

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss9

Hm, well, you do need more experience. Most companies require you to have 3+ years of experience in some of the areas of your interests. Most also require you to have a college degree and some previous works.

For programming, you could try the Game Institute (http://www.gameinstitute.com). I'm not exactly sure where you could take online courses for animation or modeling.