Old 01-20-2011, 08:44 AM   #1
kahanejosh

Activity Longevity
0/20 14/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss11
Default Where to start?

Hi

Im in my last year at sixth form in the uk at the moment, and my A-Levels don't feel like they will be great. I am definitely taking a gap year as well from summer time this year and Im 18 years old.

A few questions.

If I wasn't to go to university, whats the best place to start?

The closest developers for me are in Cambridge, Media Molecule (Little Big Planet), Frontier Studios (Kinectimals), Jagex (RunesScape).

Should I look at getting jobs with companies such as these, starting at a low level such as QA? Or look at far smaller developers from the start?

Is QA the best way to get in without a degree? Do you think they would give an internship to someone without a degree?

I really love video games, I want to be a programmer, currently have a good knowledge of Objective-C, iPhone programming but certainly will start learning C++ as it seems to be the most used in the industry (or do you suggest something like c#?).

Can QA jobs lead somewhere? Or are they an easy way in but have few prospects?

Hope you can help! Thanks.

Last edited by kahanejosh : 01-20-2011 at 08:51 AM.
kahanejosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 09:30 AM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2270

Quote:
If I wasn't to go to university, whats the best place to start?
Honestly, you are then a bit screwed. It is extremely difficult to get a job as a programmer without a degree. Not impossible but damn difficult.

The short answer to all your questions that to become a programmer is to get a degree.