Old 04-06-2011, 10:54 AM   #1
asika

Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3
Default post college graduation - at a complete loss

So I just recently graduated with a bachelor’s degree in “game programming”

(Yes, one of those schools) and I’m looking for some guidance…

I didn’t walk out of college with a chip on my shoulder thinking I can do everything; in fact it was quite the opposite. I graduated, knowing that I knew next to nothing.

The problem that I have is that I know that I’m not qualified for even a basic entry level junior programmer position; I just don’t have enough “in depth” knowledge. For example, I had an “intro to direct x” class (essentially 24 hours of lecture) and I know that is not enough usage to be putting it on my resume or to use it in an industrial capacity. Matter of fact, many of my classes were like this, but by the time I realized this I was so close to graduation that dropping out or changing schools wasn’t an option so I pushed on.

This is what guidance I have received thus far:

Career services - “Why don’t you have direct x listed on your resume? You learned how to do that…”

< They spam my resume to every job listed on monster that contains the word “programmer”>
- AS/400 programming? 5-7 years experience? I know nothing about it – why did you send my resume there? Ugh. all but useless.

Professor 1 – “when I got my degree, I basically threw it out and did what I wanted to…”
-uhm I got a degree in something I wanted to do… or so I thought…

Professor2- “Try making your own game company, and focus on mobile games…”
-eh, an option but I was kind of hoping for a steadier paycheck and benefits.

Classmates – “I’m content with working at Best buy / GameStop and living with my folks...”
-ugh.

Wife – “Do what makes you happy… we’ll be fine…”
-eh, you say that now….