Old 10-08-2007, 01:51 AM   #1
jillduffy
Administrator

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss421
Default 'I Am a Game School Dropout' comments

Comment here on the article "I Am a Game School Dropout": http://gamecareerguide.com/features/...me_school_.php
Old 10-08-2007, 08:33 AM   #2
BretWardle

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss10

I am a game school graduate...

There is one major argument I have to bring up with this feature. The author brings up, on multiple occasions, the fact that game development schools are "grooming" students to the needs of big studios. There is also mention of forsaking creative freedom in this method. In any degree, at any school, in any location this is always the case. A schools purpose is not to unleash your creative freedom. It is to teach you the skills needed to better your expression of this freedom. It is, and always will be, the designer’s job to explore the limits of their creativity. And designers that possess that unbridled creativity will always have a place in the industry in my opinion (degree or not).

Many of the greatest writers of our time lack a collegiate education. Yet others have degrees from the most prestigious universities in the world. Game development is no different. With the independent and casual markets in the state that they are (booming) there is always a need for people with a passion for making games.

If you have that passion, and the technical skills to show it, then get out there and prove it. If an education from a game development school is not your cup of tea then I applaud your independence. Personally, the time I spent in school talking intelligently about games with professionals in the industry was priceless. The teambuilding and networking with fellow students is the same. The constraints placed on projects by the professors helped me learn what true creativity is in this industry.