Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Game Career Guide > Getting Started
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 05-18-2007, 02:07 PM   #1
krazyxazn

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss1
Default Prerequisites for Computer Science?

Are there really any prerequisites for going into computer science degree?

Do they teach you everything you need to know when you take your first class or do they expect you to already know it?

I have no experience in programming, web design and was decent math student but not great. I went as far as Trig and Stats. Didn't take calculus or pre-calculus. It could have been my teachers but I didn't perform good on tests. I always got the questions in the textbook right but when it came to test, all the questions seemed harder and confusing.
krazyxazn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 03:07 AM   #2
Adrir
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss1464

I'm from the UK and I needed at least a B grade in A-Level Mathematics to get into Computer Science at my univeristy, although most courses on UCAS prefered A-Level Futher Mathematics.

There arn't other pre-requisities since they teach most things from the very basics, although it did get tiedious for me since I was already a good programmer when I started.

Last edited by Adrir : 05-20-2007 at 03:16 AM.
Adrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:15 PM   #3
HagNasty
Super Moderator

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss123

I don't have a computer sciences degree but I am a programming focused graduate in game design and development. I would not say that you need calc to program. Trig for 3d calculations. I am the same way though. I do not perform well on tests.