Old 10-21-2007, 12:27 PM   #1
iLLuSiVe

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss6
Exclamation Help with starting out

hello,

i have been interested in game design since i started playing games...

im a junior in high school, and i was woundering if you guys could help me get started.

i was woundering what kind of books would help me out, and maybe let me create a game so i could kinda get a feel for it.

or internet websites or cds that i could buy or sign up on that would teach me how to creat a game, teach me the ins and outs of making games.. and possible make a game.

I am really interested in game design and i would really appreciate it if you guys could help me out!

thankyou

-Anthony
iLLuSiVe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:01 PM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2272

Which area of game development are you interested in? Programmer, Artist, Sound Engineer or Designer?
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 07:51 PM   #3
iLLuSiVe

Activity Longevity
0/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss6

Designer

would u please help me out
Old 10-22-2007, 04:10 AM   #4
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
1/11 sssss2272

First, get into the habit of writing in full English, don't shorten 'you' to 'u' or 'I' to 'i'. It makes you look more serious about what you are doing rather then look like a kid.

Designer is not my forte so I am winging it a bit here. Use a GameCreation tool to make games, since you want to be a designer you don't have to focus too much on the programming side or art (although they are nice skills to have).

Articles related to Game Design can be found in many places, Gamasutra is my main source (sign up is free): http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/art...php?category=4

The only book I can recommend and read is: Fundamentals of Game Design.