Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Game Career Guide > Getting Started
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-06-2011, 09:22 AM   #1
iSmartMan

Activity Longevity
0/20 7/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss18
Default Application timing and location importance?

I am currently a CS student at University of Maryland who wishes to enter the games industry. I'd like to apply for a some low-level positions as a summer internship (QA tester, customer support, etc.), but since the only big-name developer in my area (Bethesda Softworks) is about to make a major release, I don't anticipate many open positions of that sort once summer rolls around. After all, it is very unlikely that they plan on releasing another Fallout game so close to the release of Skyrim, so there won't have much that is ready for testing, and the major influx of troubleshooting requests for Skyrim will have long since subsided.

On the other hand, with a few of the low-level fields in gaming (such as the two I mentioned earlier, QA tester and customer support), it seems to me that living near the developer shouldn't be a necessity in order to fulfill one's duties. However, every time I find descriptions of those positions on job application sites, they always list the location of the developer in a manner identical to that of other job listings that would require a daily trip to an office, and I'm having difficulty telling if it is a generic template or if they really want all their applicants to live nearby. Plus, I don't want to be in the awkward position of being offered a position in a month or two and have to turn it down because I wanted it to be a summer job.

Basically, if I'm submitting an application for a low-level internship-like position online, what sort of positions wouldn't require the applicant to live nearby the developer's offices, and what would be the best time/manner to apply for such a position with the intent that it would only occur during summer?