Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 01-08-2008, 11:22 AM   #1
Meyoo

Activity Longevity
0/20 18/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss1
Default Getting Started with Video Game Marketing

I am a Marketing student looking to enter the video game industry when I graduate, which will be next Spring.

While there is a good amount of information on the internet considering game design and development, info on video game marketing seems to be very hard to come by. Also, the professional internship and mentor groups that I have come by are not very concerned with video games yet, even though it is such a hot industry at the moment.

As you can see, I have found myself in a void. The video game developers do not seem all that concerned with the business side of their industry and accessible businessmen couldn't care less for the video game industry.

Would anyone have any sort of idea of where I could find a bridge for this gap? What sort of job I might have to look for to get my foot in the door in a marketing or PR department in the industry?
Meyoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 01:51 PM   #2
yaustar
Administrator

Activity Longevity
2/20 19/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssss2244

What makes you think that there is a void? Developers don't normally deal with the marketing and PR side of the game, that is usually the publishers job and is done by professionals or 'businessmen'. Selling a game is no different to selling any other product.

As for jobs, I would suspect that there junior marketing and PR roles available (despite the fact I can't find any in open positions) or you can try as Community manager which is basically PR.
yaustar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 11:39 PM   #3
jillduffy
Administrator

Activity Longevity
0/20 20/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss421