Old 12-05-2008, 03:46 PM   #1
Billyjoeray

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss1
Default What should my Major be?

Hey all,
I'm a first semester freshman at UC Berkeley and I'm still undeclared as far as majors go, but I was hoping to pursue a career in game design. What major would give me the skills and knowledge that would be most applicable to game desgin, because at UCB they don't really have anything that is explicitly for that path. I was thinking something like Anthro (because it's such a diverse major that deals with lot of topics, plus it's kind of interesting) or English. I would really rather not take computer science because it's not really my cup of tea and it doesn't really leave me a lot of room to diversify because it's a really intense major here at Berkeley. So, any thoughts would be welcome and thanks for your time.
Billyjoeray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 07:21 PM   #2
BorisK

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss38

i would suggest 3D animation/modelling or a film/media studies module(it really makes coming up with stuff easier)

i DETEST programming lol, so im basically dodging all the programming modules
BorisK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 11:44 AM   #3
Zooch

Activity Longevity
0/20 17/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss186

English is definately a very acceptable major no matter what job you intend on pursuing.

English and Philosophy are the top two majors chosen by CEOs across the country, so businesses have to appreciate the weight of these two paths.

That doesn't mean you shouldn't explore options that interest you, though. The game design field is similar to many other fields in the fact that you aren't required to get a specific major in order to get a job. It isn't like being a doctor.
Zooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 05:03 AM   #4
Cod

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss22