Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-20-2009, 12:48 PM   #1
Siberianhusky89

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssss156
Default Programming Compilers Information

Heya guy, what I'm about to ask is kinda newbish, but I'm here to learn and willing.

Alrighty, well basically first, I want to say I have good news! My good friend Andy is going into the field of programming. What does this mean? This means that once he's learned well, he and I can work on a game to make a project. At first I felt like I would kinda be useless since I hardly know how to do much (I only know some of the very basics of python) and I'm no artist. However, he said I would be very useful if I was going to be going through the game documents and such, PLUS, I'm very talented when it comes to music, so I could also be the composer for the game. I know someone that knows about 3D modeling (mostly the lighting process, but it's a start)

Now then, moving on...

I was curious, what are the differences between compilers? I don't want to become a programmer myself, however, I want to learn more about programming. I'm gonna try learning a bit about C++ since I have the basics of Python down and can comprehend some of the more general stuff of what programming is.

What is the difference between something like Dev-C++ and Microsoft C++? What's the general differences?
Siberianhusky89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 02:19 PM   #2
kenshee

Activity Longevity
0/20 16/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss37

Most compilers today compile within ANSI standard, that is an agreed upon standard similar to ISO.

On the face of it there is no difference in the compilers themselves, they do the same things and come with a standard set of features ie. they compile and link your code. The major difference and this is semantics only is that the Microsoft compiler is proprietary and the Dev-C++ is opensource.