Go Back   Game Career Guide Forums > Game Career Guide > Getting Started
Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 09-05-2010, 03:14 PM   #1
Jmitch

Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss2
Lightbulb Thinking about pursuing a career in game development..

Hi, my name is John Mitchell. I found this site a few days ago and have since been reading all of the good information it has to offer. I'm 25 years old, I have a Bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice with minors in Psychology and Philosophy from Rutgers University in New Brunswick, New Jersey. At the time I was going for something different majoring in Criminal Justice, even though it wasn't really me. Gaming has always been a passion of mine and I've been thinking about pursuing a career in game development.

I originally thought that 25 years old was a pretty late start to embark on an entire new career path, but reading a lot of Tom Sloper's articles it seems like my criminal justice degree might be more useful than I thought. I have no experience or schooling in any aspect of game development. I'm not sure what I'd enjoy, but I think I'd have the least interest in the programming side of the industry. The only somewhat relevant work experience I have is working 2 years at GameStop.

That being said, I have a few questions that I'd appreciate receiving opinions and advice about. Is it feasible to get an entry level position in the gaming industry with the education I have or is further schooling necessary? Living in central New Jersey my options are limited, but Camden County College has a 2 year degree program titled Game Design and Development that I could probably complete in a year or so after credit transfers.