Forum Home Register Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 01-05-2011, 10:06 AM   #1
D_Auvil

Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3
Default Portfolio Review

Hello, my name is Dylan Auvil. I am currently a student at Collins College, and I will be graduating in March 2011. I want to be a concept artist in the gaming industry. My proficiency is in Photoshop CS5. I'm looking for reviews on my work and advice as to how I might improve it. My url is:

http://www.dauvil.daportfolio.com/

Thank you for your time.
D_Auvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:51 AM   #2
supadave

Activity Longevity
0/20 10/20
Today Posts
0/11 ssssssss3

Hey Dylan... I'm not an artist so I'm not going to comment on the art itself, but the site.

The site is laid out nice and easy to navigate.

I'd suggest you add the tools used to all the images, even if it's just simple text in the corner. Want people who are reviewing it to know the tools you are comfortable with and prefer.

I'd spice up the homepage. The image is cool, but I'd add a brief bio paragraph there. Want people to know who you are and what you're good without clicking any links.

The bio page should have your resume, not just the paragraph. Don't take for granted that employers are going to have your resume in hand when looking at the page.

Otherwise, a good start. Good luck.
supadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:40 AM   #3
ThomasSLC

Activity Longevity
0/20 11/20
Today Posts
0/11 sssssss11

I think you've got some promising stuff here, especially the 6th piece "Landscape_Concept"

Overall I think you can improve the depth in your work. Several of your pieces feel flat. Playing with atmosphere, tone and color tempurature as you move away from the forground can add so much to the feel of space and distance .

I really like your "Landscape_Concept" because of the distance you've created there and I'd like to see more of that in your other work!